Day 2: A Book That You’ve Read More Than Three Times

71c5xwv-fklThis is one is my all time favourite. Dune by Frank Herbert is the very first book that’s over 600 pages (at least the version that I got my hands on) and powered through it until its very end. It is centered around the main character named Paul Atreides who becomes a leader of a tribe on the planet of Arrakis. With a status of their Messiah, he leads the Fremen people in a place that’s heavily dependent on melange, a spice that is highly addictive and main source for of their food.

What interested me the most about this book was the fact that all the plotlines happen on a backdrop of struggle over politics, religion, economic issues and all the new technology. At an age of twelve, I haven’t read any book that has been as detailed in the world building thus far, and the fact really made me interested in the other sci-fi novels with similar themes. I loved every bit of it and up to this day, it has a special place in my heart.

The book popped into my mind due to the fact that I rummaged through my brother’s bookshelves and found a copy in English. I was thinking of revisiting the place of Arrakis one more time. Now that I am free from a responsibility of going to work, I want to dive into the novel and enjoy it in the original.

One passage that often comes into my mind is the Litany Against Fear. I find it one of my personal favourites and when in tough times, I recite it in my head.

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”

However, the whole book is a well of great quotes and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in power struggles as one of the plotlines in the book they read. Not only do you get to think about colonialism in a fictional world, you experience many social upheavals throughout reading one of the sci-fi classics.

 

Leave a Reply

